#13 Key Lime Cheesecake

I deal with stress though food.

There’s just something so comforting about cheesecake, and what’s even more soothing is the meditative state your in while you’re making up recipes. Even on my worst days, I don’t think i’ve ever turned down cheesecake. (Being lactose intolerant it just gives me an excuse to stay home, so win win right???)

Actually, i’m glad I can deal with it that way. I always end up creating fabulous dishes.
HOWEVER, cheesecake was a request so I kind of made do with what was in my fridge. (A whole lot of limes.)
This cheesecake became a quick favourite in my family, I hope it is in yours too!

Crust:

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
2 tablespoons sugar
6 tablespoons butter, melted

Filling:

3 packages (24-ounces total) cream cheese, softened
1 cup sugar
1 tablespoon cornstarch
Zest from 1 lime, about 1-2 teaspoons (This is minimum – I like to go overboard.)
1/2 cup key lime juice
1 tsp lemon juice
3 large eggs


Topping:

1 cup heavy whipping cream
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Limes or additional lime zest for garnish (Optional)

Preheat oven to 300 and place 1 rack in the middle and another on the bottom. You can boil your kettle at this point too, and grease a 9″ spring pan.

Meanwhile you can whip up your crust by mixing your graham crumbs, sugar and butter together and press them into the bottom of your pan.

(Tip: to get a firm, flat crust I like to spread crust with my fingers and place a sheet of parchment paper over the top and press with the bottom of a glass.)

While you’re preparing to start the base, toss your crust in the oven for 15 minutes.

Mix the cream cheese, sugar, corn starch and lime zest with a mixer until smooth while mixing in the lemon and lime juice.

At this point you can add your eggs, mix slowly and for the least amount of time possible. Over mixing will cause cracks in your cake by adding too much air!
Pour this filling into your crust.

Prepare a dish (I use a baking sheet that’s a smidge deeper than average.) by adding 2-3 cups of boiling water in it. You’ll place this on the bottom rack, and your cheesecake on the middle.

Bake for 1 hour.

After an hour, I turn off my oven and prop the door to let it sit in the warm for roughly 20 minutes. Let this cool completely. Overnight or 5-6 hours minimum.

When ready to serve (or when completely cooled, whip together your heavy cream, icing sugar and vanilla until you get stiff peaks. Decorate the cake to your desire using any additional lime or garnish!

Best served cold.

Enjoy. xox

Leave a Reply

