#4 Earl Grey Pannacotta

Falalala-eugh.

I cant seem to stress enough how much I hate Christmas. I do love the holidays because you get to spend time with family, but it also involves so much nonsense. “Get this, do that, be here, go there…..” I have family all over the place and I just personally feel obligated to everywhere at once. Christmas involves a lot of travel for me. After a 5 hour flight home from work, I have to jump in the car for a 5-6 hour drive to go see my family, spend Christmas Eve, then drive all the way back to spend Christmas morning with the other half of my family to THEN get a flight out at stupid o’clock the next morning to spend a few days in Halifax. Then, the day we fly home I get another 5 hour flight back to work.

It drains my soul.

Despite the fact on my time home from work I want to relax, I also understand this is only a once a year hassle and it means a lot to everyone that i’m taking the time to visit. (I’ll be spending Christmas in Thailand next year, I swear.) Every year I just feel its so much easier – and not to mention cheaper to go away and spend time doing what I love the most.

None the less, I wanted to share a recipe that I love to indulge in. It is my ultimate comfort food when I just feel like hiding away under a blanket from reality.

If you don’t know what a pannacotta is – it’s an Italian dessert made of cream, sugar and gelatin. It’s smooth, delicious, and the earl grey tea makes for suck a delicate flavour.

Notes: I used ‘Cream of Earl Grey’ loose leaf tea from David’s Tea for this recipe, however it’s not limited to using any type of tea. I often make this using matcha green tea as well topped with some raspberries and dark chocolate.
However if you are using a more delicate tea such as green or oolong I would suggest increasing the amount of tea from 1/4 cup to 1/3 cup for a more dominant flavour.

I hope this recipe brings your the comfort it brings me.

(Makes 8 4oz ramekins.)

– 4 cups of heavy whipping cream
– 1/4 cup loose-leaf earl grey tea
– 2 tsp powdered, unflavoured gelatin
– 3 tbsp cold water
– 3/4 cup granulated sugar

(Optional: I made a quick blueberry jam for a topping just by tossing some blueberries, maple syrup, and brown sugar in a dipper and simmering until a jam like consistency.)

1. Infuse the cream by combining the 4 cups of whipping cream and the Earl Grey tea in a medium sized sauce pan. Bring to a boil over medium heat while whisking occasionally but be sure to make sure all the tea leaves stay submerged.
Once the mixture has boiled turn off the heat and cover your pan with aluminum foil, poking a few holes in the top to allow steam to release.
Let steep for 1 hour.

2. After an hour, you can bloom the gelatin.
Sprinkle your powdered gelatin into a small cup with 3 tsp of cold water. Let sit for 5 minutes, until the gelatin softens.

3. As the gelatin is blooming, strain the infused cream through a fine mesh sieve into a bowl, pressing on the tea leaves with the back of a spoon to release all the liquid. Discard the leaves. Transfer the cream back to the saucepan and add 3/4 cup of sugar and the bloomed gelatin stirring over medium-low heat until the sugar and gelatin is melted.
Do NOT let this mixture come to a boil.

4. Once the sugar and gelatin are fully integrated into the cream, divide the cream amongst 8 ramekins. Chill for at least 5 hours until set. (Preferably over night.) Once set, the pannacotta can be individually wrapped in cling wrap and stored in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.

*Don’t add the blueberry topping until time to serve. (Resist the temptation!)

Leave a Reply

